Ankle Boots (and how to style them)

ankle boot Alviero Martini 1a classe

I can tell you exactly when I fell in love with black ankle boots. It was November of 2009 and I was window shopping in Glyfada. Then on Danos store (now closed) I found the perfect pair of ankle boots: black, a bit biker chic, with a funky heel (you can see them here). I found them expensive (300€), but I decided to invest on them and 4 years onward we are still best friends, because despite the 12 cm heel they are comfortable thanks to the platform in front!

In the photo above you can see another pair of ankle boots that has captured my heart! They are from Alviero Martini 1a Classe and I spotted them at the press event I attended this summer. I would be very keen to try them out! The only drawback is that the front part is made out of suede leather, which means it can’t be worn on rainy days, it’s difficult to clean when gathering dust and so forth. In general I try to avoid suede leather based on the reasons stated above.

How to style ankle boots

- With leggings and skinny jeans:  Here’s a good example of wearing ankle boots with skinny jeans.

- With skirts and girly dresses: The ankle boots (especially if they’re black), will add a dose of edginess in the look. If you are not very tall there’s a tricky part here. It’s advisable that you wear tights the same color as the boots, in order to look taller! Been there, done that! I have a couple of examples for you: Jules, Chiara and Wendy all demonstrate how to wear ankle boots with skirts/dresses. Here is also another one from Pinterest, where the tights color matches the boots.

- With flared jeans: No tricks here. Just make sure the pants are long enough!

- With shorts: Wouldn’t do that, as I wear shorts in the summer, when it’s too hot for boots, but anyway here’s an example for you!

Want more tips? Check out this post about the do’s and don’t of wearing ankle boots.

4 thoughts on “Ankle Boots (and how to style them)

Leave your Comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

